Connecticut has the fifth-highest minimum wage rate in the country.
The state is tied with Rhode Island and Vermont at $9.60 an hour.
Connecticut was among 14 states that began the new year with higher minimum wages. Of those, 12 states increased their rates through legislation passed in the 2014 or 2015 legislative sessions, while two states automatically increased their rates based on the cost of living.
Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina and Tennessee are the only states in the country that have not adopted a minimum wage. Those states still are subject to the federal minimum wage of $7.25, however.
The Connecticut minimum wage rate automatically increases to half of 1 percent above the federal rate set in the Fair Labor Standards Act if the federal rate equals or becomes higher than the State minimum. Next year, the state’s minimum wage will increase to $10.10.